Schreiner University BFA Communication Design Blog

Our Work is Our Play!

Sleep Deprived? – Down Time

This weeks edition of Sleep Deprived? our writers talk a little about how they relax and spend their own down time. Studies have shown that your heart is pumping at its hardest, not to be confused with the fastest, before you go to bed. Over the course of the night your body relaxes all the muscles within and your heart slows up to 40% and your blood pressure has decreased by 25% on average. So relaxing and getting to sleep is very beneficial to the heart and the over the years to your over all health.

“Netflix” by Sean
Over the semesters I’ve been at Schreiner University I have worked out a plan for my downtime. I usually pick a day of the week, in this semester it happened to be Sunday, in which I do absolutely NOTHING. I sleep in, eat good (tasty not healthy) food, watch Netflix, and play video games. I usually have to play a very  By working my week just right I am able to have a full day to myself like that. And on those off weeks where I am forced into working on Sundays it severely screws up my mood for the upcoming week and by Wednesday I am in a saddened funk. So my down time is VERY precious to me.

”Get a Hobby” by Betty

Face it, we all stress, it’s just part of being human. What better way to relax than engaging in a hobby you enjoy. My hobby just happens to be crafting and anything that’s art related(painting, drawing, and clay). Weekends are usually the days I spend time on my hobbies. It’s a huge stress reliever and a fun way to kill the day. I’ve recently gotten into sewing, and have a wounded finger to prove it. I can’t say I’m the best sewer but I’m trying. I spent a lot of time this past weekend looking for projects to sew together. My current ideas are to make my mom a cute pillow case with a message on it, I hope she likes it. As for my brother I plan on sewing him a stuffed animal, most likely a wolf(his favorite animal). This weekend I also spent time painting and that’s always fun, too bad I ruined a good shirt from it. If your going to paint wear a shirt you don’t mind ruining, I know this but that day I was way too excited to paint and didn’t bother changing. So yeah, just go out and find hobby if you’re trying to find a way to relax and spend your time. You can even include your friends in your hobby, who says you have to do it alone. For those of  you who have a significant other that’s a great way to spend time together! If you have no idea what hobby to take up don’t worry I found a website with a list of hobbies to take up.

http://www.buzzle.com/articles/list-types-of-hobbies/

List of Different Types of Hobbies

Antiques
Art Collecting / Collectibles
Arts and Crafts
Astrology
Astronomy
Beadwork / Beading
Ballet Dancing
Ballroom Dancing
Belly Dancing
Birdwatching
Breakdancing
Body Art / Tattoos
Body Piercing
Cake Decorating
Camping
Candle Making
Coin Collecting
Coloring Pages
Computer Games and Video Games
Cooking
Crochet
Cruising
Dancing
Dog Training
Diving / Snorkeling
Drawing / Sketching
Embroidery
Family Vacations / Family Fun
Fishing
Flamenco
Floral Arrangements
Gardening
Genealogy
Graffiti Art
Graphology / Handwriting Analysis
Handmade / Handcrafted Jewelry
Hiking
Hip Hop Dancing
Horse Riding
Hunting
Ice Skating
Irish Dancing
Italian Art
Jewelry Making
Judo
Kayaking
Kickboxing
Kids’ Art
Kids’ Crafts
Knitting
Kung Fu
Latin Dances
Martial Arts
Magic and Optical Illusions
Music
Acrylic Paintings
Face Painting
Oil Painting
Online Hobbies and Recreation:
Blogging
Online Chatting
Online Dating
Online Games
Online Music
Social Networking
Origami for Kids
Palmistry
Paper Crafts
Paragliding
Pet Adoption
Photography
Physical Exercises and Fitness Activities
Quilting
Radio
Reading
Riddles
Sand Sculpting and Sand Crafts
Sculpting
Sewing
Singing Lessons
Space Exploration
Stamp Collecting
Sudoku Puzzles
Rock and Mountain Climbing
Sailing and Boating
Salsa Dancing
Scrapbooking
Scuba Diving
Skateboarding
Skydiving / Parachuting
Snow Skiing
Snowboarding
Speed Skating
Stained Glass
Surfing
Swimming
Tango Dance
Treasure Hunting
Trekking
Vacations / Traveling
Watercolor Paintings
Wood Carving
Woodworking
Writing

 

How I De-Stress by Hannah 

Ok, so I for one stress out a ton, and that’s not good, especially when I’m trying to get all my work done for classes and everything. Stressing usually leads to late nights and little sleep, both of which are not conducive to a successful work ethic.

Things I do to de-stress… Hm, how do I de-stress? Well, it usually involves me ending up running around screaming! Haha, the sad part is that’s true. It is actually a really effective way to relieve stress fast and it’s fun! Ok, yes that helps, but I also de-stress by watching a movie with friends or without it depends on the day. Reading is also a great way for me to de-stress. Another thing I do is check tumblr for ideas for different art projects or just things that interest me. Oh, and of course I always like to work on art projects that are outside of class projects, art that is just for my own benefit. Another way I de-stress is simply by sleeping. I never get enough sleep during the week, so I definitely try to catch up on the weekends.

Another great way to de-stress is to exercise. It is definitely something I need to get back in the habit of doing. Exercising is a great way to get ride of stress, and it also gives you more energy after you get in the habit of it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 11/15/2012 by in Time Management and tagged , , , , , , .
November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 44 other followers

