Schreiner University BFA Communication Design Blog

Our Work is Our Play!

Cook N Class: Pulled Pork Sliders

Pulled Pork Sliders 

Franklin's BBQ

One of my favorite easy meals to make is my slow cooked pulled pork sliders. Each time I make this recipe, I try out a new BBQ sauce. I found Franklin’s BBQ Sauce at H.E.B. If you are unfamiliar with Franklin’s, it has been all the hype in the BBQ world for the past year or so. It is located in Austin and people are known to wait in line for hours to get a piece of this smokey meat. I bought Franklin’s Sweet Vinegar BBQ sauce. It is a little watery but very flavorful. It actually reminded me of a Bloody Mary Mix. I was very tempted to add vodka to it and call it a night, but I resisted.

Over the years, I have tried several pulled pork recipes, and I have narrowed them down to this one:

Pork Butt Sandwiches

Ingredients:

  •  1 large sweet onion, sliced
  • 3 lbs. pork butt, (that’s what is written on the package)
  • 1 cup BBQ sauce (your choice)
  • 1/4 cup mustard
  • 3 tbsp. tomato paste
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 8 slider buns

Directions: Place onions on bottom of crock pot. Salt and Pepper pork and place fat side up onto onions. Mix together BBQ sauce, mustard, tomato paste, and chicken broth. Pour into crock pot. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. Serve on slider buns.

photo%201

These sliders are not complete without the spicy coleslaw on top. I like my coleslaw as unhealthy as possible. So I buy a creamy coleslaw salad kit and add 1/4 cup mayo and sour cream, plus 1 teaspoon Louisiana hot sauce. You can make this ahead of time and refrigerate it for an hour or so.

photo%202

This Sunday, I started late and I discovered that you CANNOT rush the pulled pork process! I set the crock pot on high for 4 hours instead of low for 8 hours. I ended up with Pork Butt roast, as opposed to fall-apart pulled pork. I simply saved it by slicing up the meat by hand. I was then able to cut out some of the fat, which is slightly healthier I guess.

photo

I served my pulled pork sliders with store-bought, pre-made Potato Salad (thank you HEB) and a Woodchuck Amber Apple Cider (not pictured but very tasty)

Enjoy!

-Dana Saul

For more information about Franklin’s BBQ, follow this link: https://franklinbarbecue.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 09/11/2014 by in Cook N Class and tagged , , , .
September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 44 other followers

