Schreiner University BFA Communication Design Blog

Our Work is Our Play!

King Ranch Chicken

I had never heard of King Ranch Chicken until I moved to the Hill Country.  I use to love to eat it at the Old Republic, a restaurant that is no longer open here in Kerrville.  I decided one day to try to make it myself but could never find a recipe I really enjoyed.  So I used bits of pieces of several and added my own twist to it.  My family really enjoys when I make it and by the time I know it the dish is all cleaned out.  Here is my take on King Ranch Chicken:

To start off…you can either buy your chicken pre cooked or cook your own chicken to your taste

Shred your chicken or cut up into small bite size pieces

Slice one onion into fine pieces

Slice one green and one red bell pepper into fine pieces

1 large can of cream of chicken soup

1 large can of chicken broth

1 can rotel

1 package corn tortillas

1 package of shredded cheese (I find that Monterrey Jack works great)

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees

In a large skillet combine your onion, green/red bell pepper and Sauté with butter till tender. Then add in your Rotel and continue to sauté on medium heat.  You can now combine your cream of chicken soup, chicken broth and chicken.  Bring to low heat and let simmer till everything is nice and mixed together.  While waiting for all the ingredients to mix well together, take your corn tortillas and cut into quarters.

Place a thin layer of your mixture at the bottom of your pan and place one layer of tortillas. Then add a layer of the mixture, and shredded cheese.  Place another layer of tortillas and repeat until all your mixture has been added in.  Finish off by adding one final layer of tortillas to the top and add cover with shredded cheese.

Now it is ready to place in the oven.  I find that 350 degrees is a great temperature to cook it at.  Bake in the oven for 30 minutes uncovered.  Take out of the oven and it is ready to serve.

Erica Bellking

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 09/25/2014 by in Cook N Class.
September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 44 other followers

