Schreiner University BFA Communication Design Blog

Our Work is Our Play!

Cook N Class: Red Curry

 Thai Red Curry

I woke up Sunday morning hungry for Thai Ocha’s chu chee salmon (Salmon and veggies in Red Curry sauce) but I really can’t afford to spend $50 on going out to eat. So I researched online and found that Red Curry is not hard to make. Although it can be difficult to make, I am okay with generic, lazy versions of complicated recipes. I wanted to find ingredients I could buy at my local grocery store and not something I had to order online or drive to San Antonio to get. I looked in my pantry and found I have a Thai Kitchen fish sauce, so I checked out their website.

On the Thai Kitchen website, I found this recipe:

Red Curry Shrimp and vegetables

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (13.66 ounces) Thai Kitchen® Coconut Milk
  • 2 tablespoons Thai Kitchen® Red Curry Paste
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 pound large shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1 cup assorted vegetables, such as snap peas, bamboo shoots and sliced red bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup fresh Thai basil (optional)
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons Thai Kitchen® Premium Fish Sauce
  • Cooked Thai Kitchen® Jasmine Rice (optional)
  • Fresh red chiles, thinly sliced (optional)
Directions:

BRING coconut milk to simmer in large skillet on medium heat. Stir in curry paste and sugar until well blended; bring to boil. Reduce heat to low; simmer 5 minutes.

STIR in shrimp and vegetables. Cook 3 to 5 minutes or just until shrimp turn pink and vegetables are tender-crisp. Stir in basil and fish sauce.

SERVE with cooked Jasmine Rice, if desired. Garnish with additional basil and red chile slices, if desired.


 

So I made a grocery list and brought home these ingredients.

image

 

FYI: Coconut milk has a TON of saturated fat in it, that must be why this tastes so good.

 

image

image

image

 Ready to eat!

image

The green stuff is technically Indian Food: Saag Paneer. I love me some Indian Food, although I am only familiar with the Indian Food Buffets in San Antonio. I have tried several restaurants and my two favorites are Bombay Hall in San Antonio and The Clay Pit in Austin (try the Naan Wraps, its the entire buffet in a wrap). So I looked up the difference between Indian Curry and Thai Curry and it basically said Indian Curry is made from powered curry, while Thai curry is based off a curry paste. So this is what I made.

Overall, I thought this meal was really good. I am going to keep it in my recipe rotation, albeit sparingly because too much coconut milk can’t be that healthy for you. The recipe calls for 2 tablespoons of Curry Paste but that was not spicy enough for me. Next time I will make it 4 tablespoons.

This was so quick and easy to make I can’t wait to try it again!
-Dana Saul

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 09/30/2014 by in Cook N Class and tagged , , , .
September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 44 other followers

