Schreiner University BFA Communication Design Blog

Our Work is Our Play!

Gnosco: A Book Recommendation

Girl_Gordon_cover(Image from Wikipedia)

This week’s topic is a book someone else recommended to you. I’ll admit I’m particularly bad about these – I’m a stubborn reader and will usually only read what strikes me at the moment. That’s why I haven’t read The Da Vinci Code, Dune, A Wrinkle in Time, and Gone With the Wind, and they’re adding to my immense book hoard in my bedroom.

It’s been awhile since I actually took up a book after a suggestion and stuck with it, and my quickest recollection is one my dad recommended me in about the seventh grade: Stephen King’s The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon. Of course I expected him to be playing a cruel joke on me; I though all King wrote was horror and I was very timid at that age. I read it anyway.

“The world had teeth and it could bite you with them anytime it wanted.” This is the first line, a warning and a foreshadow of what Trisha McFarland is about to experience. She gets separated from her brother and mother in the woods on a hike, and keeps walking in hopes of finding them or their car. With a small lunch pack of food, her Walkman, and the power of Tom Gordon(??), she tries to survive the dangerous forest while listening to the search for her and the baseball game. It is, I suppose, a little scary, so I don’t think it’s really meant for that age. But it’s good for suspense, and it certainly kept me hanging on to each paragraph! Now I just need to re-read it.

-SP

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 11/06/2014 by in Gnosco.
November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 44 other followers

