Schreiner University BFA Communication Design Blog

Our Work is Our Play!

Gnosco: A Book You Couldn’t Finish

(Sorry for the lateness!) Okay, so maybe there’s some room for some light negativity. I think most people start a book now and then and just cant stomach it to finish it, and everyone’s got their own tastes in stories, so that’s okay.

One of the few books I could never finish was one I could hardly start, and I’m a little ashamed to say it’s one of the classics. In high school, for summer pre-AP reading before sophomore year, we were to be assigned A Tale of Two Cities. I wanted to get the jump on it, since I love to read, so I picked it up early. The first sentence, I could handle. It all went downhill from there.

By the end of the first paragraph, I was entirely lost. I don’t think I made it to the end of the chapter. I skipped ahead to see if it got easier on my mind, but no luck there either. It felt like there was no hope. Well, I never liked pre-AP anyway, the other students picked on me a lot more in that class than in regular classes, so I decided to switch back instead on facing my devils and my Dickens. In retrospect… no, I regret nothing. Nothing to regret.

The book haunted me several times that year and again the next in various forms, and so did the pre-AP and AP English classes/teachers/students, but it wasn’t worth it. Despite being a dedicated book obsessor, I could not bring myself to tackle the tale. However, I must admit… I still haven’t read it. I don’t plan on it. It’s daunting, it’s scary, it reminds me of high school, and I don’t think I could bring myself to like it. Maybe someday.

Moral of the story: Sometimes books just shoot you down before you can give them a chance

-SP

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 11/14/2014 by in Gnosco.
November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 44 other followers

